Officers

2018-2020 Executive Board

Name Position Contact via Email
Norma Nunez President norma.nunez@imperial.edu
Suzanne Gretz Vice President suzanne.gretz@imperial.edu
Paige Lovitt Recording Secretary paige.lovitt@imperial.edu
Steven Cauchon Treasurer steven.cauchon@imperial.edu
Lisa Solomon Faculty Representative  lisa.solomon@imperial.edu
Xochitl Tirado Corresponding Secretary xochitl.tirado@imperial.edu

Norma Nunez

Norma is the Student Equity & Achievement Program Coordinator, as well as a Psychology Professor at Imperial Valley College.  She earned her BA in Psychology from San Diego State University as well as her MS in Counseling Education.  In her thirty-two years at IVC she has held various positions, amongst them Transfer Counselor, Director of Student Support Services TRIO program, Matriculation Director, Student Success and Support Program Coordinator and GED Chief Examiner to name a few. Norma has always been involved in the various shared governance committees on campus.  In Academic Senate, she has been secretary, treasurer, chair of Equivalence Committee and counseling faculty rep.  Norma has also been an active member of the IVC CTA, holding various positions on the Executive Board, including Vice President (2020) Treasurer (2002-2010), Secretary (2001-2002) and Faculty Rep. (1989-1993).  Norma has been instrumental in the development and implementation of various programs at IVC: computerized testing, Online Orientation, and AB 705 implementation.  She has been recognized for her leadership and awarded:

  • President’s Outstanding Service Award (May 26, 2015)
  • Presidents Distinguished Service Recognition (June 9, 2007)
  • Student Services Outstanding Leadership Award (June 2007)

Norma lives in Brawley, her son Christopher moved to San Diego two years ago to pursue his career in law enforcement.

Suzanne Gretz

Paige Lovitt

Paige Lovitt earned a MS in Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling from Fresno State. She began her community college experience at Fresno City College.  She started working at IVC, twenty years ago.  She was the High-Tech Center Specialist for 14 years and then became a District Counselor six years ago. She also has been involved with Distance Education since its inception.  She resides in Brawley with her partner of 13 years and two hyperactive old dogs.

Lisa Solomon 

Xochitl Tirado

Xochitl is the Distance Education Coordinator and an English professor. She is a lifelong resident of the Imperial Valley. Xochitl attended IVC earning her A.A. in Liberal Studies and then earned her bachelor’s in Liberal Studies at SDSU -IV Campus. She later attended National University where she earned her master’s degree in English. She began her teaching career in the K-12 system where she taught a variety of grades for nine years. She later began teaching part-time at IVC and eventually earned a full-time position in the English department. Xochitl enjoys spending time with her two children and her husband.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s